On how many ice cubes …

September 10, 2007 at 5:39 pm 4 comments

I was at a stay and play session this morning. I must have gotten there too early, as at the beginning there were only 2 mums (and babies) there. So I got caught in the middle of the age old weaning conversation between the mum of a 5 1/2 month old and the mum of a 6 month old. The first mum was very concerned as her daughter had been eating a whole ice cube for the past week for every meal. And this morning she didn’t eat so much as a teaspoon. Mum number 2 gave a fascinating expose about the timing of meals and how to fit naps and milk around that. Apparently I’m failing as a mum because I don’t give lunch on the dot of 12.00. Well sometimes I might. Or it might be the dot of 1.00. Or the dot of 1.27. Well, you get the picture.

Mum number 1 was also saying that she didn’t know how much to feed her daughter. Apparently her health visitor said to feed as much as she would eat. Sounds sensible to me. But mum wasn’t happy with that. She wanted a breakdown of how many teaspoons, how many icecubes.

Sometimes the only way I know how much the Imp has actually eaten is by the contents of the next day’s nappies. Sometimes I’ve thought that he ate something in it’s entirety, only to find it hidden in a groove in the highchair or pram when cleaning up later. I do have those moments of maybe-if-my-baby-ate-my-solids-he-would-sleep-through-the-night but then I slap myself back to reality.

I like to watch the Imp playing with his food, exploring the textures and consistencies. And sometimes he even eats those things with their fabulous textures and consistencies, but the exploration is just as important as the eating – I try not to lose sight of that.

Like they say, until they’re one, it’s just for fun. What happens after they’re one is I suppose, anyone’s guess.

Entry filed under: babies, baby led weaning, food, weaning.

Stuffed Summer Squash The simple things in the oven

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Laura  |  September 16, 2007 at 8:15 pm

    Just wanted to say i can completely relate to this post. I could have written it myself, although not quite so well!
    I go to a couple of groups and am often caught up in similar conversations. Luckily, now Phoebe is 8 months i can confidently talk about the wonders of BLW… if i feel in the mood and the other Mums aren’t too scary! lol
    Its great to hear about other Mums & babies like us who aren’t obsessed with cubes, baby rice & frequency & timings of feeds!

    Oh, and your recipes look amazing! Can’t wait to try some!

  • 2. amberjee  |  October 5, 2007 at 9:05 am

    Oh, so sorry, your comment got eaten my akismet spam 😦 I just found it.
    Sometimes I shut up about about LO’s eating in a vain attempt to fit in, but happy days when you find like minded mums!

  • 3. ailikate  |  October 8, 2007 at 7:26 pm

    Lord, if I had time to worry about exactly how many tsps, etc my little girl ate…well, I’d probably be using it to catch up on sleep.

    And just yesterday I was so pleased that she ate all the tomato I gave her, only to find it wedged in the highchair seat…

  • 4. Mary Stothard  |  December 31, 2007 at 9:45 am

    Very well said, I’ve heard those conversations too, and also wondered if I shovel food in her she’d sleep better, but then she blows rasberries in my face along with the food she’s just been eating and I remember food is meant to be fun, I cant help laughing at her. She’s taken a likeing to sardines recently, unfortunately I’ve found bits of that places I thought were impossible, but found by the smell.
    Love your recipies too along with the way you describe them, very tempting.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feed Me!

Add to Technorati Favorites

